Fire Department

Serving with courage, commitment + compassion:

The Bremen Fire Department is committed to serving the Town of Bremen, Indiana, and German Township of Marshall County, Indiana, by protecting life, property, and the environment. 

Responsible for 63 square miles of fire protection, the department continually improves the quality of service by being well-equipped, using the latest available technology, and by highly-trained and motivated personel. 

From fire suppression to our emphasis on fire prevention and Safety education, the department has always worked diligently to meet the changing needs of our community. The department holds an annual fire prevention class for school children, day cares, adults, and senior citizens. 

The Town of Bremen maintains a Class-4 (Class 4Y in Township) fire insurance rating (also known as the Public Protection Classification), which is determined by a survey conducted by the Insurance Service Office (ISO). The survey includes 3 critical areas: (1) fire alarm handling, which includes the 911 telephone system and dispatch capabilities; (2) available water supply for fire protection and; (3) staffing and firefighting equipment maintained by the fire department. 

The fire department is funded by the Town of Bremen, German Township Trustee, and an Advisory Board, along with donations from the Bremen Volunteer Fireman's Association, Inc., and from members of the community. 

Call to Duty
If anyone has an interest in joining the Bremen Volunteer Fire Department Call 574-546-3660, send an email to or stop by the fire department for more information. 

It's Your Fire Department
It cost a great deal to add to or replace aging equipment and to continue to provide the training that keeps us ready when you need us. Donations help the department provide the best service possible. 


You Can Mail Your Donation To:


Bremen Volunteer Fireman's Association, Inc.

PO Box 364 Bremen, Indiana 46506 574-546-3660

Matt Neher

Fire Chief





123 S Center St

Bremen, IN 46506

Office Hours


7:00am to 3:00pm